The Gathering of Healers

I recently was honored by allowing to speak at a interesting conference that took place in Fort Defiance, Arizona, on the Navajo Reservation: The Gathering of Healers.
My topic was “Energy Medicine and Homeopathy”, which I was fortunate to be able to present on 2 separate days. I wasn’t sure what to expect, and who exactly would be attending. I was asked to speak by Vonn Hardy, wife of my long-time friend Mike Tutt, MD. (Mike and I trained together in Internal Medicine at St. Joseph’s Hospital….years ago.) Both Mike and I have come a long way since our IM training, Mike went on to study rheumatology, and is now Chief Medical Officer of the Ft. Defiance hospital. He is fluent in the Navajo language, and believes in, and has patients use, traditional healing methods as well as the usual allopathic drugs. I have had training in different alternative modalities, but my forte is now homeopathy.

Attendance was from California, Arizona, New Mexico, Georgia, and as far away as Germany. Prior to the start of the event was a Navajo Blessing ceremony, in a hogan, which I was able to attend part of. Sitting inside hogan in a circle, about 30 people listened as a Navajo medicine man spoke, blessing the event, the contributors, as the fire ashes burned sage. Each morning was a ceremony outside with Indian blessings, singing, and some drumming events also.

The end of the conference was a 2 hour performance of varies acts, my favorite being a Celtic Harpist, Dave Hoover. He plays beautiful music and he performs for hospitalized patients of all types in Albuquerque, New Mexico to ease pain and shorten recovery times. “Music therapy.”

The comments and questions after my talk were excellent. The following day one participant came to me and said he had never heard something explained so well, and wishes he had heard this years ago. That made it all worthwhile for me. Others wanted to know if there were homeopaths in there part of the country! and where they could find one.

A few pictures from the event:

20130823_5110 20130824_5033 20130823_5162 20130823_5149_50_51_tonemapped 20130823_5136 20130823_5130 20130823_5116

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Energy medicine, homeopathy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Gathering of Healers

  1. Sandi Howlett says:

    this looks fascinating…..mutual benefit of your being part of this.

  2. Susan Dunn says:

    Great report…..thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Diane Snyder says:

    That is positively MARVELOUS! I don’t know if I ever told you that my homeopathic physician in Denver, Nick Nossaman, worked on the Navajo res rather than going to Viet Nam & that is what launched his interest in alternative medicine. I’m certain that you’re aware of Carl Hammerschlag’s work with the Navajos, too. What a small world! Those of us with the same interests do somehow manage to find one another. I have a very dear attorney friend in Albuquerque who worked for the Nation in Window Rock for many years. It changed her life, also.

    “There is no path to peace; peace is the path.” Gandhi

    Date: Wed, 28 Aug 2013 02:12:48 +0000 To: nanatravels@msn.com

  4. laura hodge says:

    i was at the gathering, but attended a different talk at the time of your presentation. i spoke with several friends that attended your talk and they said it was the best talk on the topic that they had ever attended anywhere and was one of the best of the weekend at the gathering.

  5. Gianna says:

    I was blessed to be able to attend this event. I was at your talk on the second day and I wanted to thank you for explaining homeopathy in a manner that finally clicked for me. Since then I have started adding some homeopathic remedies to my tool box for me and my children, with great results. Thank you so much. What a special event for me overall.

  6. Mary Buttry says:

    Thank you for sharing pictures and insight!

Leave a Reply

