Memories in my vacuum

The top is dying in the sun, pulling memories from the roller

The top is dying in the sun, pulling memories from the roller

IMG_0011

Yes, spring is here. It’s time to reminisce over the past year – with my Dyson. Remember the last time I talked about my vacuum? Well, this isn’t about the dirt, it’s about the hair. I love cleaning the roller. Don’t get me wrong, I like rinsing out the top half, seeing all the stuck on dust from months of cleaning wash away, revealing the shiny yellow plastic again. But there is something about getting down there in the roller, having to pull, spin, pull, spin. You have to work at it. No cheating using a knife…the fun is the manual pulling of the hair, and carpet threads wound so tightly around that roller.

There are still a few Max hairs showing up. They are shorter of course, intermingled with the other hairs and carpet pieces. I think about the good years we spent together, and about the other dogs I have had. The thin blond hairs, Cyndi is in there of course. Uh oh….what’s this? Beautiful long silky strands of black hair interwoven in the mix. They wrap around several times. If CSI were checking this out…maybe they would think there was someone else involved. No trace in the house, but the vacuum reveals it’s secrets. Who else has been here, who has stayed been in my living room and bathroom and left their DNA in my Dyson, their long beautiful hair…..

oh yea….how could I forget……

IMG_0006

IMG_0009

IMG_0003

598486_10151171213139022_1095564827_n IMG_0007

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in the human story, Vacuums and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Memories in my vacuum

  1. Diane Snyder says:

    Oh no, don’t tell me that we have something else in common besides our love of dogs & travel — Latino culture!

  2. Sandi Howlett says:

    Oh this makes me smile……all those dogs, all that love, all those memories….
    And more in the making!

  3. I loved my Dyson Animal Vac. Sort of feel lost without it. But, with five German Shepherds it really took a beating. I am asking the Universe for a new one. I know it is on its way.

  4. Diane Snyder says:

    Talk about synchronicity, I was picking up on that as you wrote it. I just came across the notes from my first field trip class to the SW back in 1982.

  5. Mary Buttry says:

    Love your Blog posting, hate cleaning out the roller of the vac. It’s disgusting work. That is a very good looking family friends you posted on your Blog.

  6. pam says:

    Memories via the vacuum. Priceless.

Leave a Reply

