The Master Cleanser: Lemonade Diet

I’m 3 days into a 10-day cleanse. I follow it from the book: Healing for the Age of Enlightenment 1976, by Stanley Burroughs. Now you can find numerous links for the diet on the internet. Basically it is very simple:IMG_0005

2 tbsp lemon or lime juice, (about 1/2 lemon)
2 tbsp genuine Grade B maple syrup
1/10 tsp cayenne pepper or to taste
water, combined in a 10 oz glass.

extrapolated make 4 quarts:
2 cups lemon juice
2 cups maple syrup
fill with water to 4 quarts total

NO OTHER FOOD IS TAKEN!

Hard to believe…but all the calories and nutrients you need are supplied by the maple syrup. Living off lemonade for 10 days (or longer) takes some courage and will-power, but the benefits are great. It alkalizes your system, and eliminates toxins and congestion that have formed in any part of the body. It can also be a reducing diet, but it does a lot more.

This is the time of year to do it, lemons are plentiful, and we got all the free lemons from friends with lemon trees. The maple syrup is what costs the most – $20 a quart, from Whole Foods. You need to use the real stuff, not artificially flavored high-fructose corn syrup. Actually it tastes good………………………………………………………………………..so far.

Here’s a picture from Whole Foods market – they even had a set up for it in the produce department.  Good timing!

IMG_0007_1

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Diet, Food, Health, Lemonade Diet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Master Cleanser: Lemonade Diet

  1. Susan Dunn says:

    Hello and RS Greg,

    I’ve been doing this cleanse for over 20 years and you have the wrong measurements for to expanded version. It’s one cup lemon juice/ one cup maple syrup to 80 oz of water. one ounce of each to 10 ounces of water.

    Also, don’t forget the salt water flush in the morning. 2 tsp sea salt with one qt warm water. Be near the toilet for at least one hour.

    Wonderful cleanse…the maple syrup down here is about $27 for 12 ounces!! That is, if you can find it!!!

    I will be moving to the Mesa area in about a month so if I don’t see you here for ISW, maybe I’ll be seeing you, after I do this cleanse, at Satsang in Phoenix soon. Happy New Year. LRS, Susan

  2. Is this your first time on this cleanse, Greg? If so, what was the impetus? Like Susan (other comment), I’ve heard and have done this one for years. Not my fav, although I like it well enough, I usually cheat to do a more extreme version without using the maple syrup. No, I don’t substitute anything else for it, though I’ve read the book and his rationale for the “energy”; I just don’t believe it. Thanks for posting as this as inspired me to do this cleansing also, and there are plenty of lemons around, too. : )

    • I’ve done this diet 2 or 3 times in past years, just been a while. My girlfriend was interested in it…so OK, let’s do it. It’s easier having some support with it I think. Drinking straight lemonade and no syrup sounds scary though….no calories. I’d starve, lose too much weight, and not be able to function without the energy from the maple syrup. I’m thin enough as it is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

