The Science and Practice of Fat Management

ImageThis is scan from a medical journal for an upcoming conference. Wow!  The Science and Practice of Obesity Management – I’m sorry, but to me this is just crazy….what have we become as doctors? I know it is in the news all the time, the growing problem of obesity. But now we have medical conference for management of obesity. A conference on managing issues associated with people who are obese.  Typical allopathic approach–treating symptoms of the problem, instead of the problem itself. That is, instead of curing the obesity, let’s manage the symptoms and issues you get being obese, namely: high cholesterol, diabetes, kidney disease, arthritis, gout, GERD, high blood pressure, urinary incontinence, asthma, depression, etc.

I commonly see patients that are on multiple medications, treating multiple problems, that are all stemming mainly from eating too much food, and the wrong type of food, if you could really call what they eat food. The sad thing is a lot of people don’t know any better. They eat what they eat without mindfully thinking, or how they were raised, or because they say they “can’t afford real food”. Some would rather just take a pill for this and that….easier than changing their lifestyle.

The prevalence of obesity is 74% in the U.S.

1/3 of adults are obese.

There is predicted a 130% increase in severe obesity prevalence over the next 2 decades. . If these forecasts prove accurate, this will further hinder efforts for healthcare cost containment.

My point is not that people are overweight, and we don’t need to manage their issues associated with this, but how much better would it be if we aim at fixing the source of the problem? I know a lot of people struggle daily, trying to lose weight, and are frustrated, depressed, and more. There are some, but I wish I saw more conferences on that subject.

I think homeopathy can help balance a person, and perhaps help them better follow good eating habits, but those habits have to be developed, and learned. That is what needs to be taught, and practiced. Until we detox ourselves, and our society it will continue to be an uphill battle for people.

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Diet, Health, homeopathy, Medicine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Science and Practice of Fat Management

  1. Tina says:

    We are a culture that says, “Do what you want, when you want,” then scrambles to fix the consequences. We are the unexamined culture.

  2. Susan Dunn says:

    Hello and RS Greg……Just a few thoughts on this subject….For almost 60 years I have been battling the bulge!!! all diets worked for me, for awhile….One, no grains, low fat vegan( mostly beans and greens) kept me down below 140 for almost 4 years ( with jogging almost 3 miles daily). But I hurt my hip, had a broken relationship, and back came the weight. I’ve tried everything, but not homeopathy!!! How does one use this to lose weight???

    I have been off and on thyroid pills, but don’t like taking them!! Maybe I should??!! I lose weight whether on them or not. I’ve about decided I’m fighting a losing battle with my destiny, but if you have any suggestions, I’d be open to hearing them 🙂 maybe homeopathy is the final answer!!!

    • Susan, homeopathy can balance a person, and perhaps help with this. This would be by giving a constitutional remedy to a person after a fairly extensive interview. It’s interesting that the American Medical College of Homeopathy here in Phoenix, just finished a proving on a new remedy, hA2CG, the active component of hCG which of course people are going to want to try for this purpose. It is only available by prescription. So, there are some homeopathic options here.

  3. Dianna scaccia says:

    we have found ourselves too busy to plan and prepare meals, food is available 24/7 and too much is served and sold, and it is high is calories/fat/sodium, life has become so convenient that we are too sedentary. so… if you have a propensity for weight gain, you will gain weight in our current culture. resist.

Leave a Reply

