Vegan Chocolate Cake

I know I have blogged a little about chocolate cake in the past. Well, I just made another cake, and I thought I should share my current recipe with you. Since I don’t eat anything with eggs, I have given up a lot of cakes, pastries, donuts, etc. And there are a lot of eggless options if you go to the right places, such as Whole Foods. They even have great eggless cookies. But  I don’t mind baking my own, and my chocolate cake tastes great.

I learned from noshing expert Stephanie Quilao that some soft tofu gives some body to an eggless cake, so that is my latest discovery. (extra firm is pictured, but I use about 1/2 package of the regular, soft mushy tofu.) Basically I follow the recipe on the box from the store. I add a little single serving of applesauce, and I love to add a few dark chocolates pieces or even some regular chocolate chips. It gives it little extra moist chocolate spots. The EnergG egg replacer gives helps it hold together. With the tofu and applesauce it takes a little less water, maybe 3/4c instead of a whole cup.

Maybe I’ll make it all from scratch someday, but for now this is quick and easy.My mouth is watering by just writing about this….time for another piece. I’m a chocoholic.

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Diet, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan Chocolate Cake

  1. Susan Dunn says:

    Looks great Greg…..I use ground up raw cacao in my green banana smoothies and this seems to take care of my chocolate craving 🙂 Enjoy your cake and bring some here the next time you come or maybe bring the ingredients and make it for us here 🙂

Leave a Reply

