No, we didn’t make it to Maui

Avalon Harbor, Catalina Island, California

I guess I knew it was a possibility, when I signed up for buddy passes for a week trip to Hawaii at a pre-paid timeshare resort. But for some reason, I thought for sure there would be at least 2 empty seats on one of the several planes leaving daily for the islands…. there weren’t.

What to do? I quickly went through the five stages of grief.

Denial ( no f***ing way!?)

Anger (no f***ing way!?)

Bargaining ( come-on, you can get 2 more f***ing people on this plane!)

Depression (we’re f***ed, I’m a loser.)

Acceptance (F*** you, I didn’t want to go on your plane to Maui in the first place, I want to stay here, and that’s OK.)

Laguna Beach, California and Catalina Island….there could be worse places to kill a few days. I can’t deny that I was upset, but maybe I shouldn’t be so down on myself. I think it was good I was able to pull through, come up with a plan, and make the best of it.

I have completely gotten over it, and moved on. It’s ancient history now—

but the water in Maui would have been a lot f***ing warmer…..

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Attitudes, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No, we didn’t make it to Maui

  1. Susan Dunn says:

    It’s so interesting how after years of meditation, what used to “bug” us for months or years is now only lasting a few hours or days. I’m glad you got over it and maybe next time it won’t even cause you to be angry!!!

  2. Lisa Swanson says:

    Didn’t even know you knew such words, Greg! Sorry to hear about that.

Leave a Reply

