Watermelon helps get the job done.

I had some landscape work done this week at my house, (here in Phoenix.) Temperatures hitting 112 this week. The workers start at 6 a.m. to beat some of the heat, but by 11 a.m. it is hot. (yeah  I know, it’s a dry heat—-but so is a blow torch.)

Being from the watermelon capital of the nation, Beardstown, Illinois, I know how good a cold, sweet watermelon can taste on a hot day. Even though the workers all had their Circle K Big Gulps to stay hydrated, all work stopped for a time when I walked out with big slices of watermelon for a cool break.

“Muchas gracias por la sandia!” was what I heard as one of the guys say as he sat in the shade. Nothing is better for you…..natural, full of fluids and vitamins. I’ve always found that it is very much appreciated, and just by the gesture, they know I do care how hard they are working. They do a better job (I think), because they know I care, and so the favor is returned.

For a few minutes I listen to the bad jokes, hear stories about prior jobs, and enjoy some watermelon myself. I help move some dirt, and borrow their jack hammer to break up some concrete. I collect the rinds, and the work resumes, but with a little more vigor. They want to know what kind of work I do.  Yea, I’m a doctor…..they don’t believe it.  And that’s a compliment to me.

Ice cold, sweet, juicy watermelon. It’s something everyone can enjoy, so it’s something we have in common. We are all human, so treat each other as you want to be treated-share a little.

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Attitudes, Health, the human story, Vitamins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Watermelon helps get the job done.

  1. Terry (t j) Meyer says:

    Your watermelon blog brought back many memories of your dad and me working the melon fields.
    We had 2 fields,one one the north side and one on the south side of the road.
    Planting and raising melons is hard work as your dad and I can attest to.
    The vines must be turned, and a never ending lookout for diseases.
    At harvest time, one must have a strong back and be able to withstand 95% humidity.
    There is nothing like going out on a hot Illinois morning, cutting open a ripe juicy melon and just eating the “heart”, making sure dad wasn’t watching.
    One year there was an abundance of great melons and no market. Dad said, “go out and slice the melons open and turn the hogs in”
    What a day!!

  2. Teresa says:

    Watermelon, nature’s way to stay well out in the Arizona sun. My husband had a similar experience with workers on our home. However, he was from Wisconsin, beer capital of the world…

  3. Susan Dunn says:

    Hello and RS…

    Boy is this blog right down my alley. Watermelon is one of my favorites and since I’m on my way from just LFRV to being a fruitarian, I do appreciate this wonderful fruit. I’m trying many other tropicals as well. Thanks for posting all the info you do as it really helps keep track on health and mental well being also. Gracias 🙂

  4. Lisa Swanson says:

    Love this story, Greg. I completely agree. My memory of watermelon with Dad is him making everyone go outside in the yard to eat it because it’s so juicy and that way we could use the hose to clean us off!

  5. Cathy David says:

    thanks Greg-I’ve got 7 vines growing in my backyard this year-my first attempt to grow watermelon :). Only low 80’s today here in Pequea PA and very low humidity…come visit !

  6. nikki t says:

    beautiful story, I believe in the power of kindness

Leave a Reply

