Roadkill – A Photo

Illinois Rt 67

It happens all over, on highways and country roads. Some animal decides to go to the land of opportunity— on the other side of the road — and doesn’t make it. It’s life is suddenly and unexpectedly ended. Possum, raccoon, deer, mouse, lizard, snake, turtle, armadillo, coyote. Cat, dog.

People drive by roadkills everyday, some weave to avoid them. Who wants blood and guts on their tires? If it is a dog or cat, some people will stop, and pull the body off to the side of the road, at least giving it a little respect and to avoid more pummeling. We feel more attached, closer to them, especially if we have a dog or cat ourselves. The “lower” the animal, the less we seem to care. Why is that? Why do we maybe feel more for the “poor deer” or “poor dog” than for the poor snake, or poor bird whose carcass is almost becoming a part of the road now, smashed as flat as a cartoon character.

I drove by this roadkill. But, a mile later I decided to turn around. I was still feeling bad for this animal, caught smack in the middle of its crossing. It was such a beautiful setting: farm fields, sun going down, and here was the opposite. Something not so pretty. There was a picture here.

It is a picture of beauty, and at the same time a picture of sad, or ugly, or disgusting. My mind is pulled in opposite directions.

What is your feeling about it? Make a comment below about it.

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Attitudes, Photography, Roadkill and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Roadkill – A Photo

  1. Mary Moreland says:

    I always say a prayer for the critters I see on the highway. With funding cuts they don’t pick them up as quickly as they used to. The buzzards take care of the majority.

  2. Yolande says:

    I break for roadkill and I photograph it. I’ve got a collection – mostly of snakes. I think there is something very poetic about it. I’ve even written an essay called “I break for roadkill” – I’ll try and dig it up and publish it on my blog.

    Greg, I appreciate your insights.

    Y

  3. Lisa Swanson says:

    On my way home this past wkend there was a turtle in the middle of the road on 136. I turned around and pulled over to help it across hoping it hadn’t been hit yet. It had. It was still alive but was bleeding and it opened it’s mouth at me, it was a snapping turtle about 12 inches across so I didn’ t dare pick it up. I had to let it go and hope it didn’t get hit again, they were actually repaving the road at this spot so hopefully one the the crewman the next day would be able to move it.

  4. Jeanne Lum says:

    Hi Greg,
    Just had to answer this one, I love all animals, I have stopped to save or move any creature if at all possible. Yes, even a snake, they all deserve this!
    I have 3 dog’s,2 cats,4 african spurred tortoises. LOVE them all, they are all created by GOD!!!
    Jeanne

  5. Teresa says:

    Animal lovers will probably not think too highly of me but one day we were driving north of Payson and I saw a dead fox. At least I thought it was by the red color from the way the sun was hitting it. I made my husband back up because I wanted to have it’s tail. Figured my Davie Crockett loving son would like it. Humoring me, husband went back and decided it was really a coyote. We left it behind and as it turns out probably was a good idea. My dad shared the process of getting the skin off the tail with me… not so much fun.
    I also have a picture of an armadillo, rolled up on his back…but that’s another story.

  6. Excellent Snap…i loved it….
    this picture speaks a lot…. an incomplete story….. dream in abeyance….the horizon beckons….
    any way my end emotion is SADNESS…empathy…

Leave a Reply

