Being in the moment

 

Being in the moment!

 

 

I listened to a talk today, about how the mind is never satisfied, it never gets enough. Most of us have this problem. The mind is never content, because it never finds what it truly needs, lasting happiness….and that is something that will never be found outside of us because, every thing outside of us is impermanent.

The people who have all the basics want to improve on that….a little bigger house, a bigger yard, another bedroom. Or, a summer home, a winter home, a beach home, a condo in the city for when we visit there. Or, we have all that but a private plane would be nice to save time, and get there easier.

This phone is small, I need one that not only texts, but does email. But, now I want one that lets me surf the internet, does navigation, etc.  Mine does all that, with lots of apps, but I need one that takes better pictures, with higher resolution now.

I do have food to eat and I have money, but I have no time (I’m so busy) so I’ll eat at nice restaurants. But the food isn’t healthy, and I don’t have time, but I can afford a private cook to make meals when I want them. Then I will be healthier and have more time to do things I want to do, and that will make me happy.

She is beautiful, I want her. But now I see she could be better, there is this problem I have found with her. I thought this other person was actually more perfect, and would be better. But now I see something I did not originally see. So maybe I should not stop here, perhaps I wouldn’t be happy with her after all.

I have clothes, but they are not in style now, I need new ones. Now, I have new clothes, but people have seen me in these clothes, so I can’t be seen again in them, so I need new clothes. I have newer, stylish clothes, but a lot of people have these same stylish clothes, so I need designer clothing. I have lots of designer clothing, but I want something no one has, now I need someone to  design something just for me. That will make me happy.

Meanwhile life is slipping by. We worry about what has happened, a mistake we made, how someone hurt us, lot of what if’s. And we worry about tomorrow, always planning, how to do better, get ahead, save for the future, make our goals, etc so that we will be happier in our future. And sometimes we are happy….. for a while.

I remember a quote from the movie trilogy The Matrix: Everything that has a beginning, has an end. Which, should give a clue as to where to look for happiness that isn’t temporary. Because everything—everything we can see, smell, touch, hear, and feel ….has an end.

Remember these Kindergarten Rules from Robert Fulghum?

Share everything.
Play fair.
Don’t hit people.
Put things back where you found them.
Clean up your own mess.
Don’t take things that aren’t yours.
Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody.
Wash your hands before you eat.
Flush.
Warm cookies and cold milk are good for you.
Live a balanced life – learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work every day some.
Take a nap every afternoon.
When you go out in the world, watch out for traffic, hold hands and stick together.
Be aware of wonder. Remember the little seed in the Styrofoam cup: the roots go down and the plant goes up and nobody really knows how or why, but we are all like that.
Goldfish and hamsters and white mice and even the little seed in the Styrofoam cup – they all die. So do we.
And then remember the Dick-and-Jane books and the first word you learned – the biggest word of all – LOOK

Applying these rules to our everyday life will help to provide balance, and thereby help us to live in the present, in the right now, this moment….which now is already past. So why worry about it….it’s gone. See what you have, and don’t have….and be OK with it. Nothing is permanent. Life can change in an instant. Happiness in the outside world is fleeting, if you don’t believe me just turn on the evening news. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t strive to do our best:

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway.
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.”
— Mother Teresa.

Being in the moment!

 

 

 

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in the human story and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being in the moment

  1. Susan Dunn says:

    Great post, thanks friend 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    For some reason this post reminded me of my very favorite poem, “Manifesto: The Mad Farmer’s Liberation Front,” by Wendell Berry. I love sharing it with others….

    Love the quick profit, the annual raise,
    vacation with pay. Want more
    of everything ready-made. Be afraid
    to know your neighbors and to die.
    And you will have a window in your head.
    Not even your future will be a mystery
    any more. Your mind will be punched in a card
    and shut away in a little drawer.
    When they want you to buy something
    they will call you. When they want you
    to die for profit they will let you know.

    So, friends, every day do something
    that won’t compute. Love the Lord.
    Love the world. Work for nothing.
    Take all that you have and be poor.
    Love someone who does not deserve it.
    Denounce the government and embrace
    the flag. Hope to live in that free
    republic for which it stands.
    Give your approval to all you cannot
    understand. Praise ignorance, for what man
    has not encountered he has not destroyed.

    Ask the questions that have no answers.
    Invest in the millenium. Plant sequoias.
    Say that your main crop is the forest
    that you did not plant,
    that you will not live to harvest.
    Say that the leaves are harvested
    when they have rotted into the mold.
    Call that profit. Prophesy such returns.

    Put your faith in the two inches of humus
    that will build under the trees
    every thousand years.
    Listen to carrion – put your ear
    close, and hear the faint chattering
    of the songs that are to come.
    Expect the end of the world. Laugh.
    Laughter is immeasurable. Be joyful
    though you have considered all the facts.
    So long as women do not go cheap
    for power, please women more than men.
    Ask yourself: Will this satisfy
    a woman satisfied to bear a child?
    Will this disturb the sleep
    of a woman near to giving birth?

    Go with your love to the fields.
    Lie down in the shade. Rest your head
    in her lap. Swear allegiance
    to what is nighest your thoughts.
    As soon as the generals and the politicos
    can predict the motions of your mind,
    lose it. Leave it as a sign
    to mark the false trail, the way
    you didn’t go. Be like the fox
    who makes more tracks than necessary,
    some in the wrong direction.
    Practice resurrection.

  3. Tiffany N. Thomas says:

    I love your Blog! And your pictures.
    I have that saying from Mother Teresa on the wall in my living room, and yes, whenever I am feeling a little down or “derailed” as I like to call it. I read what she has to say and I instantly become comforted, almost nurtured in a way. I Love it!
    Keep up the good work.
    Tiffany

  4. dianna scaccia says:

    good reminder for all…loved reading it!
    a favorite quote: “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach and not when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

