I cleaned my vacuum today and didn’t get sick

I have a Dyson vacuum that I thought was enormously expensive at the time, even though I got it on sale at Wal-Mart a few years ago. Turns out it was a good deal. Especially when you have dogs. Lots of suck, and you need that with dogs that shed. And no bag to change-that’s the nice part. I thought that was the only part you had to clean, just suck and dump the bucket every time. But today, while being a domestic god, I thought I’d rinse the whole thing out and get all the cling-on dust out. I did a search to check on how to clean it, and found a site that illustrated how to take it all apart and wash it out. I discovered there’s a foam filter that is supposed to be cleaned every 6 months. Oops, guess I’m a bit overdue. I found the secret release switch and popped it out.

As I rinsed a couple of years of dust down the drain it was hard to not have a little splash up and become airborne. Freed again after 2 years of imprisonment, almost microscopic particles danced up and the Brownian motion kept them floating until they entered the space in front of me. Surely a few entered my private air space, into my nose. How many made it all the way down to the depths of my alveoli?

When I thought about it, how people are so worried about “germs” it seems a little funny. Two years worth of compacted dust from every crevasse of my home-dogs, carpets, floors, window sills, and outside furniture just invaded my personal space, chock full of all kinds of bacteria, dust mite poop, and God knows what else. Granted, it is a good idea to wash your hands after using the restroom, and of course I always do between patients. But the idea that we are “clean” is a little absurd. We might be clean, but we aren’t sterile. We are constantly surrounded by and covered by bacteria, viruses, and fungi. They even live inside us. What most people don’t understand is that we live with them, symbiotically.

We often get sick not because we catch a germ or virus……they are always there. We just become susceptible to them. The balance is upset allowing them to over-grow their boundaries with us. They are not the enemy. We coexist peacefully, usually. This is why not everyone gets ill, even in an epidemic. A susceptibility and opportunity is needed.

Persons who have been treated with a constitutional homeopathic remedy often notice they don’t get sick as often. Not only does their chronic problem gradually improve, but acute illnesses are less frequent. If they do get sick with something like a cold a dose of their constitutional remedy strengthens the body, bringing it back into balance so the offending infection is quickly brought under control by the body. This is the opposite of allopathic treatment, which does nothing to boost the immune system of the individual person, but does kill all bacteria, while the body tries to recover itself in the meantime.

Eating healthy, getting enough sleep, and laughing a lot all goes a long way to keeping you healthy. So I watched an episode of Cougar Town, and laughed. Still feeling fine, even with the dust mite poop in me 🙂

A Dust Mite

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Health, homeopathy, Medicine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I cleaned my vacuum today and didn’t get sick

  1. Lora Roberts says:

    thanks for the laugh…I don’t know why but this fear of germs overtakes most of the population, it’s good to have these memorable reminders to let people know how brilliant our body is and to use all of it’s potenial instead of squashing it with antibiotics I had to remind my daughter that a fever is a good thing this morning!

Leave a Reply

