Dealing with a Negative Comment

 

I had to deal with my first negative comment on a blog. I knew it was coming….just waiting to see how long it took. It was short, and to the point. And it wasn’t personal-too much. but of course we tend to make things personal, don’t we. You can read it under this blog, during my trip to Haiti. There are a lot of homeopathy-haters out there. I guess there are a lot of haters out there period. They are just looking, and searching and watching for their personal pet-peeve to come up so they can say something nasty back. I am naive about this. It just seems odd to me to look for something you don’t like, so you can just comment on it.

Anyway, I figure the best way to deal with it, is to go ahead and let it be posted, and then try to answer the best I can, without putting my foot in my mouth. (Who wants to eat crow?) I don’t want to restate here what I already said there. I used it as a teaching exercise. It was a bit exhausting to write, but I’m glad I did. I think I stated things clearly, and objectively as I could, without condemning the commenter. I can’t help my little sarcasm though. That’s what makes these thing a little fun to read, right?

I think it was nice to get that comment, the more I think about it. It made me think of my own reasons for doing homeopathy, and how I view it as a healing modality. People often ask me if it is hard jump back to “regular” medicine, when I know homeopathy. So far, it is OK for me. I can help people both ways. Some folks just want allopathic meds–“I need a Z-pack doc, I’m getting a cold and I can’t be sick this weekend.” Maybe I can convince them otherwise, maybe not. But that is their choice.

Again, we all have choices. When I see a patient that is a smoker, I tell them-with a bit of sarcasm, “that’s bad for you” and laugh a bit with them, stating the obvious. But then I ask them if they ever quit, or do they have any desire to quit. If they say no….I drop it. Why should I push? They have made a choice. If they want to choose differently I can help. People need to take some responsibility for themselves. I’m not their mother! But if they choose wisely, I will do all I can to help them.

What choices have you made to help yourself in a positive way?

 

Cristo from S. Africa - on a rock near Sedona, AZ

 

 

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in homeopathy, Medicine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dealing with a Negative Comment

  1. Nikki says:

    You are the epitome of the world to come….the world of homeopathy & allopathic treatment in a harmonious center. You are our warrior Dr. Meyer. My introduction to homeopathy was in 1997. Crippled with spinal injuries I was told I would be permanently in a wheelchair in 10 years. Even with this prognosis I went kicking and screaming to my first Homeopathic meeting where I was told I didn’t have to believe in it for it to work. How true it was!! My life an spine were given back to me. There is a DEFINITIVE CURE in a form most Western practitioners frowned upon. Go forward with your trusty shield and unite the powers of both sides. We all need you and your wisdom.

Leave a Reply

