I ate crow

I talked to my Dad the other day. He was cooking. He loves to cook, and gives the food to friends, and family. Maybe there was a Lion’s Club meeting–he’ll bring 2 gallons of homemade chili. He’s good at soups. Potato-leek soup is one of my favorites, the Elks Club loves when he shows up with a kettle full. He also cooks animals, all kinds of animals.

So when I called home the other day, he was cooking. Something different this time. Roasted beaver. Yep, that’s right. A hunter friend had trapped some beaver, and had given him one to cook (he had kept the pelt). He knows my Dad will cook anything. His friends seem to drop off dead animals off on our front porch they have hunted, or killed for whatever reason, just to see if he’ll try and cook something up with them. I think it is a little game they play. I even found a recipe to cook beaver tail?!

I haven’t always been a vegetarian. I used to love to eat the fresh fish we would catch in the Illinois river, or nearby ponds. Squirrel was a favorite of mine, just don’t bite down on the buckshot.  But there have been some stranger foods too. In Kruger Park, South Africa I’ve had warthog, and impala.  Dad does do the regular “delicacies” like the duck, goose, pheasant, etc that the local hunters bring in. Rabbit was always tasty. He’s cooked venison, and bear, but it’s the more interesting critters that come to mind, like raccoon, rocky-mountain oysters (dipped in egg, rolled in cracker crumbs and fried), and….crow! There are recipes out there for crow.

Yes, in my younger days I can say I ate crowliterally.

But a busy little  beaver? that’s just not right! What’s the strangest thing you’ve eaten?

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Diet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I ate crow

  1. Tina says:

    Once when I was on a visit home from college my dad asked me if I wanted to try from braised racoon. I asked, “Where did THAT come from?” “O’Neil.”

  2. Claudio says:

    once in mexico city..I tried beef eye in a taco..did not get sick(chrissy did..of course) but it was pretty slimy…and tasteless…

  3. T. J. Meyer says:

    Yes, my brother is a great cook.
    He was a crack shot at squirrels using a 22.
    Me?? I had to use a 12 guage.

  4. Nancy says:

    LOL – rattlesnake, bear, gator,elk – most everything in your post with the exception of Africa. Gotta love growing up in the Midwest with hunters around.

  5. Wendy says:

    I LOVE your blog!! I had the pleasure to feast on your dad’s bbq coon…yes it was yummy and yes I’d do it again!!

  6. Kelly says:

    Can’t wait to try some beaver! I miss river fish; I’ve talked to a couple people out here on the West Coast who would never touch catfish or walleye-it’s ocean fish or nothing! I love your blog too. Thanks again for all the contact info you provided from Africa. While there, I ate warthog, alligator, impala, kudu, ostrich, and springbok. Gators were my favorite!! Warthog was too dry and ostrich too chewy. It’s tough to beat an Uncle O’Neil stew though.

  7. Pingback: Dealing with a Negative Comment | DrMeyer's Blog

Leave a Reply

