This was their lucky day

The morning was spent seeing patient at St. Vincent’s School for the Handicapped with the team from Homeopaths Without Borders. Mostly new patients but a few that came back for follow ups, with big smiles. Fevers were gone, pains were improved. In the afternoon I connected with an acquaintance I had previously met in India that is a native from Haiti-it’s a small world. After a wonderful lunch at her home, we walked along the streets from her home, farther up the mountain side. The street turned to paths and sometimes trails as we wandered through a hillside suburb of Port-au-Prince. There are dead cars periodically along the roads, hit by debris and crushed. They now become a car-parts store for others, and some are simply being slowly consumed by growing piles of rocks, trash, and new plants and trees. Power lines hang low enough to touch, some are cut. We are headed to the home of a family friend, who is 72, and  has an injured knee.

We pass by a large rubber bladder, about 10’ X 20’ that is filled with drinking water, connected to faucets. This is where the people in this area come to fill buckets of water, and carry them back on their heads for the days use. Pigs, along with the occasional dog, or goat are seen foraging in the trash piles.

We find our way in the maze of twists and turns to a tiny hut with 2 beds and a table. She is here, and has her left knee bandaged. I ask to have a look, and her son first washes his hands with rubbing alcohol, and then removes the bandages, to reveal a 2 inch ulcerated infection, which she says is improved since now it is draining, but it is still difficult to walk. I promise to return with something to speed the healing tomorrow, and give some general advice.

During this time a beautiful little girl stood by closely and watched. All the girls here wear colored barrettes and ribbons in their hair. I asked to take her picture, and she is excited, and starts to pose-there is beauty everywhere.

Many children can’t attend school because it is not free. Grade school costs $100/year tuition, add-on the costs of supplies and uniforms, etc and it costs about $250/year. This is beyond the reach of many families, so these children will not even have a chance for a future. My friend mentioned that many of her American friends want to know how to help, and one of the best ways is to pay the tuition for a child.  She had recently received money for just this purpose. And, as we were walking back to the house we saw a girl and boy carrying jugs of water. We stopped to talk with them, and it turned out they lived in the area, and didn’t go to school because their parents couldn’t afford it. She sent someone to follow them home, and meet their parents, and check out their story.

As I snapped a picture of them I said—this was their lucky day.

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Haiti, homeopathy, the human story, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to This was their lucky day

  1. Amy Hayslett says:

    Greg thanks for sharing. Where in Haiti are you? I have friends in Haiti who have been there for a few months helping distributer water filters through a program called Water is Life.

    • We have been based in Port-au-Prince.

      • Amy Hayslett says:

        My friends are in Limbe about an hour south of Cape Haitian.They have been doing work in the central region. Take care and thanks for what you are doing.

      • Carol Bigio says:

        Hello Greg, Thank you for the report and the pictures. You mentioned that you are working at St. Vincent’s School. When I was in Haiti in Sept. I noticed that the rubble from the earthquake at that school had been completely removed and was well cleaned out along with the crushed bodies of several of the children. I had been very upset by the news about it soon after the quake in January. I used to work there for several years in the 60’s and was very familiar with the peole there. Where is the school located now? What buildings do they use or is it a tent??

      • From what I can find out from a friend here, there was a hospital and a school there maybe. We are within a block of an older building they had, i think. there are some pictures on my facebook page I have posted. There is a regular complex of some dorm rooms, and class rooms. they are building to new large rooms also. No tents.

  2. Penny Meyer says:

    Gosh, Greg. This is unbelievable. Thanks for sharing your story. TJ and I would like to donate $250 for some child to go to school. How do we do that?

    Love the pictures–especially the beautiful children–also loved the story of the children singing “God Bless America.” Special thanks to you for providing such wonderful care to these people in need. Penny

  3. Pingback: Fungus Among Us | DrMeyer's Blog

  4. Dr. Meyer,
    My name´s Nuno Oliveira I’m homeopath working in Lisbon Portugal.
    I found your blog through facebook of the HWB and I really enjoyed your posts. Congratulations for the incredible work you do with homeopathy. People like you are the ones that give credibility to homeopathy.
    Thank you for sharing these moments. I will continue to read your stories …
    Nuno

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I am new to the blogging scene, and always wonder if anyone reads anything I write! It was an amazing week, and a pleasure to help document some of the good work being done.

  5. Lora Roberts says:

    Greg– what a awesome post! My passion for Homeopathy continues to grow when I read stories such as this. Not only can homeopathy offer hope and healing in situations such as this, you get to witness incredible people. I always feel that I benefit as much as my clients do, we get to learn more about life and experiences. I practice Homeopathy in Wisconsin and hope to help out with Homeopaths without Borders sometime in my life. Blessings!!

  6. Pingback: 3 Kids Get to Go To School | DrMeyer's Blog

Leave a Reply

