Shifting

I just read someone’s story and cried. I met a new friend, and was in awe of all they had done and accomplished. When I read their story of heart-break, the sadness of ending a relationship that was going nowhere after several years, and the feeling that time is running out – I remembered that I had been there. I know that feeling.

It is a dark place.

There’s a big difference between being depressed and sad, and having depression. Everyone gets sad at times, that’s normal. Depression is not about lack of happiness, it is about lack of hope. To be hopeless is the worst you can be. To be without hope is to have nothing to live for. That’s why you just can’t tell a depressed person to “just cheer up”. Cheer up for what?

Keeping positive thoughts is not always easy to do. But trying to put a spin on a bad situation can sometimes help us see the light in the distance.

For instance, ever get a flat tire? Usually we get really upset. Now we are late for a meeting, for work, or maybe starting a road trip. We keep thinking about how much time is lost, how much a delay it is, how it is going to screw up the whole day. Maybe you were in a car accident, even a little fender bender. We can keep having unconstructive thoughts, wasting energy and worry, and manifesting anger…….or we can put a spin on it–Even if it is an imaginary spin. I sometimes will thank the universe for giving me this flat tire, because it got me off the road to avoid an accident that would have killed me up ahead. Wow, this flat is nothing compared to what would have happened to me.  Aren’t I lucky I got this flat!

You can do the same with any situation: This relationship is ending because the universe has the right person waiting to meet me. (At least that is what I tell myself!)

I often see patients that were in car accidents that have minor injuries, but are very upset, stressed, angry, etc. They are so focused on what happened, why the cop didn’t give the other guy a ticket, how much damage was done to the car, etc. So, before they leave I always tell them something to try to make them shift. I say “your angel was in the seat next to you and protected you” to which they give me a puzzled look. “It could have been a lot worse, at least you are walking and talking.” And then they suddenly shift– they smile a little, stand up straighter, and walk out feeling glad they are at least “OK”.

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Medicine, relationships, the human story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shifting

  1. Sula Meyer says:

    Nicely put. Depression is a lack of hope. Sometimes I tried to imagine how is it to never feel the happiness that keeps me alive evry day and then is when my heart bleeds for a friend. Hope our little actions can give some “shift” to those that suffer from depression. Keep doing a great job. You make people smile 🙂

  2. It is amazing how just one simple shift in perspective can move someone from down to up, from lack to prosperity, from feeling left out to left with. It’s wonderful that in your work and everyday life that you can help people see what they are blessed with – that is a gift 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Faces of Depression | DrMeyer's Blog

Leave a Reply

