Stevia – the unknown sweetener

Why is Stevia such a secret? There has been lots of controversy around why Stevia was labeled as a food supplement, rather than a food additive.  You can read about it all over the internet:
http://www.naturalnews.com/022234.html
http://hubpages.com/hub/Stevia-The-No-Calorie-Sugar-Substitute-Youve-Never-Heard-Of
http://www.steviacafe.net/fda-approves-aspartame-bans-stevia
http://www.prlog.org/10050221-testimonial-ralph-walton-md-former-psychiatry-professor-to-hawaii-health-committee-re-aspartame.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aspartame_controversy
Stevia is a natural artificial sweetener, with zero calories, and no side effects. I suspect “they” didn’t want to let it in the USA because it had the potential to compete with other sweeteners. Eventually it got in because they agreed to not label it as a sweetener! Look at any label of any product that is Stevia. Nowhere on the label does it say it actually written that it is a sweetener. It’s a “supplement”!!!  I recommend it to all the diabetics I see. I use it just to lessen the amount of added sugar in my diet, and because I think it is the closest thing to real sugar I have ever tasted in my tea, coffee, etc.

If you’ve never tried Stevia, it is a good way to drop some extra calorie intake, and improve your diet. It comes in powder, or liquid, and is available at many health food stores. I get mine from Sprouts, or Whole Foods.

The latest news is that Cargill and Coke are interested in using Stevia in their products. Now that big business is interested, the FDA will likely change the regulations and Stevia will be a popular sweetener in the future. China is already amping up production, as is Paraguay.

I ordered this 1 lb 10 yr supply!

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Diet, Medicine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stevia – the unknown sweetener

  1. Kelly Meyer says:

    We use Stevia in all the restaurants I’ve worked in out here. When customers ask for Splenda or Sweet n’ Low, we give them Stevia. Hopefully, that means it’s popularity is growing…

Leave a Reply

