Heirloom Seed Expo Photos

The world’s largest national heirloom seed exposition was at Santa Rosa, California on September 13, 14, and 15 . For three days the largest arrays ever seen of heirloom produce were displayed– from across the United States. There were more than 70 speakers, talking about everything from seed saving, GMO products, home gardening, politics and farming, and more. Keynote speakers included the world-renowned philosopher and activist Dr. Vandana Shiva. Dr. Jeffrey Smith, a famous critic of GMO foods. Chef Alice Waters, owner of Chez Panisse also spoke on her passion for healthy, locally grown food.  There were talks on everything from medicinal herbs for your garden, to the joys of planting and growing unique varieties of heirloom vegetables.  Never before have this many individual seed companies, seed banks, and seed libraries joined together to share information, and attempt to combine resources to save our dwindling crop diversity due to single crop/hybrid farming, and the development of GMO hybrids by such companies as Monsanto. I’ll be writing more about information from the expo, for for now, a few photos.

Johanna Silver of Sunset Magazine

Seed Saver Companies from across the U.S. get together

Vandana Shiva, keynote speaker

 

 

 

 

Chef Ray L. Duey, CEC - http://www.chefgarnish.com

 

About Dr. Greg Meyer

I'm a homeopathic physician, an urgent care physician, camper, hiker, traveler, and photographer. After Microbiology & Epidemiology, I studied medicine and more recently have become fascinated on how homeopathy can actually cure disease, or better said-how it allows the body to actually heal itself. I'm available for consultations in classical homeopathy. Check my website for more information.
This entry was posted in Diet, Food, Health, Photography, Seed Saving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heirloom Seed Expo Photos

  1. NadineLynn says:

    This is the coolest post–about the seeds.

  2. Dianna scaccia says:

    This is so interesting, amazing! I know you soaked it all up, Greg!

  3. Tiffany says:

    Finally! All this time I was thinking that it was a dying craft. I have to say that, I was sure that there are people out there who enjoy harvesting their own seeds, but I am amazed out that much of an out come. I have started teaching (forcing) because of a lack of interest, my 2 boys on how and what they can do with just a few out of ea. veggie and fruit that we grow in our garden. I think it is important for them to know how to do this. I had heard about a yr. ago something about seeds being injected with steriods. This I am not happy about! Whether its true or not, don’t really like even the thought of it. I am on fire to grow my own foods right in my own back yard and teach my kids how to grow and harvest as much as possible. I don’t want them to have to rely on the good ol’ grocery store and the outragous prices that they in future will have to pay for the simplest things to eat. Last yr. I was able to grow plenty for the 3 of us to get by on, this year I will be teaching the boys canning and of course more seed harvesting.
    Great pictures by the way, esp. the creative designs in the fruit by the Chief. Awesome!
    Tiffany

  4. Pingback: Planting an Urban Farm in Phoenix | DrMeyer's Blog

Leave a Reply

